According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in 2018, California’s private sector reported 5250 fatal injuries, a 2% increase from 2017.
California occupational accidents statistics also report that the forestry, fishing, and farming occupations had the most serious workplace accidents. The statistics show there were 22.8 deaths per 100,000 employees. It is unfortunate.
Just having an accident at the workplace does not guarantee you compensation. You need to prove that it wasn’t your fault and the employer was responsible for the conditions that exposed the staff to risks. Here are things you need to do to make a solid personal injury claim in San Diego after work
File an Accident Report
Fatalities at the workplace are also known as occupational fatalities. Every state has set clear guidelines and deadlines to file a workplace accident and file a personal injury claim. Suppose you are a resident of San Diego and injured in a workplace accident, California State laws require you to report the workplace accident in writing to the employer within 30 days of the accident.
The California State laws require you to file a workers compensation claim within one year. If you want to file a personal injury claim, you need to contact a personal injury lawyer San Diego immediately after the accident. According to personal injury lawyers, you need to report the accident to the employer even if you escape unscathed or have minor injuries.
Immediate reporting of the accident protects you from symptoms that might appear after weeks or months.
Consult a doctor as soon as possible after a workplace accident. If you have severe injuries, you need to go to the emergency room. You can ask your employer which doctor to visit for treatment.
If you are not happy with the treatment meted out by the doctor referred by the employer, you can change the doctor but have to pay out of your pocket. Seek the advice of a personal injury lawyer in San Diego before taking any essential treatment decisions after a workplace injury.
Report Injuries as Soon as Possible
After taking initial treatment for your injuries, you need to report injuries to the employer as soon as possible. Your employer won’t know about your injuries until you notify them. The material moving and transportation occupations reported 15 deaths per 100,000 employees which is the 2nd highest rate of workplace fatalities in California State.
Talk to your lawyer about filing the workers’ compensation. You need to get a copy of the worker’s compensation filed by your employer.
Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer
According to 2018 occupational accident statistics, workplace injuries and death costs accounted for $170.8 billion. These costs included administrative expenses, worker’s compensation, medical fees, wages, and productivity losses.
Hiring a personal injury can ensure you get the deserved compensation for your injuries and loss of wages. It will also ensure the employer is held responsible and will make the workplace safer for all employees.
To sum up, it is the duty of every employer to keep their employees safe from injuries. If your employer’s negligence causes an accident, the injured employee needs to hire a personal injury lawyer to file a personal injury claim and get compensation.